Kasbah du Toubkal

Pictures of the Kasbah
Home > The Kasbah > What people say > Trip feedback

Guest reviews

Below are some reviews that guests have left for our trekking and holiday packages:

Trekking in Style package DLD [view package details]

Fantastic

By Paul, July 2017

  • • What was the most memorable or exciting part of your holiday? - Beautiful scenery, great hospitality and it worked with a family including two teenagers and two less than fit parents, even if we resorted to using the mule a couple of times!
  • • What tips would you give other travellers booking this holiday? - Go for it! Having a personal guide allowed us to enjoy at our pace and do routes that the guide felt would work for us - hard work but doable. Bring your own water bottles and good hats.
  • • Did you feel that your holiday benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation? - Very much engaged in the local community, not only through the financial contribution from the amounts charged by Kasbah du Toubkal but also through everyone we dealt with on the ground coming from the local villages.
  • • Finally, how would you rate your holiday overall? - Fantastic. Family really enjoyed it. Hard work at times, great food, great people, stunning valleys and mountains - peaceful.

I am reborn! Simply the best holiday I have ever been on.

By Marie, May 2017

The stay at the Kasbah du Toubkal was amazing, what a relaxing place, and the views are quite incredible. Sitting and having dinner by candlelight and chatting with other guests was so lovely.

I definitely got a sense of how much of an influence and benefit the lodges provided to the local community.

This holiday was - Absolutely brilliant, the trekking was perfect, just on the right side of hardship (challenging but not too much), the scenery was spectacular and the lodges were great, cosy and comforting after long walks.

Can recommend this trip to anyone!

By Adriaan, May 2017

We had a great holiday, the group enjoyed the Kasbah and also the personal touch with the birthday cake was greatly appreciated. The staff was very kind and hospitable.

We did enjoy our hike up the Toubkal, good stay at the Trekking Lodge and then up to Lepiney and Les Mouflons.

The support team, Hussein, Ibrahim (x2) and Mohammed was great and were a great help to us, Mohammed is a good cook, especially his soups. May be it would have been a bit better if Hussein would have stayed closer to us on the way down but we certainly enjoyed his guidance.

Beautiful memories from the trek and the Kasbah

By Ulf, April 2017

We loved our visit and have only beautiful memories from the trek and the Kasbah.

- The transfer went without any problem, and the little walk up to the kasbah was easy and a nice intro to the village. The staff was friendly, helpful, funny and we have absolutely nothing to complain about.

- Our trekking guide Abdeslam was soo good! The first day, we made a little walk which helped him to estimate our capability, and his trekking suggestions the following days absolutely matched our condition. His great knowledge about the mountains, the flora & fauna, birds and the culture of the berber people was impressive. And he was really easy to communicate with.

- Our stay with Mohamed in the Azzaden Valley was a highlight, and we would recommend it to anyone. Delicious food, friendly atmosphere. No wifi for 3 days is a blessing; we all need that.

- Azzaden trek, although the first day’s trek (over the saddle of 2489 m) was quite hard. But since there’s an easier track, everyone has the possibility to choose. Guide, mule and cook is a wonderful combination!

We had an amazing time!

By Kevin, March 2017

Had a wonderful time in Imlil. The best holiday I’ve ever had ! scenery incredible, people lovely, food great, trekking amazing, etc, etc…

Kasbah Du Toubkal in Imlil - Really good, wonderful atmosphere around the place, particularly liked the room upgrade for the last night following our return from the trekking lodge. We were very sorry to leave!

Trekking guide - Very good. Helpful, informative and friendly.

Great experience!

By Fritz on 27 Jul 2016

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

We had a wonderful stay in the Atlas mountains, discovered beautiful landscapes, met interesting and nice people, stayed in the unique Kasbah du Toubkal and were accompanied by a very competent guide.

“In short: we had a wonderful stay in Morocco - far beyond normal Holidays.
The High Atlas Mountains are awesome!”

Remote trekking in the High Atlas mountains

By The happy wanderer on 11 Oct 2015

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

This was a walking/trekking trip in the high Atlas mountains which involved staying 2 nights at the kasbah du Toubkal, 1 night in their remote lodge and the other 4 nights in Berber Gites and refuges. We had our own personal guide, a cook, 2 porters and 3 mules. The ultimate aim was to climb Mountain Toubkal. The holiday was planned carefully by Kerrie at Discover Ltd who arranged everything for us from arriving to leaving Morocco. It was a great trip, an adventure. The guide was superb and prepared us well for the Toubkal climb. The accommodation was amazing, food fantastic and all of the staff we had were so helpful and professional. Everything was very personal and you felt special, nothing was too much trouble. A great company to organise your holiday.”

Fabulous Kasbah du Toubkal and Azzaden Mountain Lodge

By Nicole W on 8 Oct 2015

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

I booked the Trekking in Style trip with Discover Ltd which comprised of 5 nights and 4 days of trekking in the Atlas Mountains in Morocco. The trip was to celebrate my partner’s 40th birthday. The whole trip including transfers, food, accommodation and trekking was first-rate. The staff at the Kasbah and Lodge were really welcoming and accommodating.”

Probably will never have the opportunity to experience something like this again

By Richard on 14 May 2015

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

Hiking the Atlas Mountains is one nice adventure, but trekking to and through Berber villages is a unique experience that we will never forget. The Kasbah and staff is so hospitable. This retreat is beautiful and a nice change from traditional hotels.”

Kasbah du Toubkal/Atlas Mountains (Morocco) Trek

By SMK on 10 Apr 2015

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

Our family of eight had a most memorable time on our Atlas Mountains trek. The hospitality at the Kasbah du Toubkal and Remote Trekking Lodge was wonderful. Our guides were informative and attentive and gave us a great understanding of the beautiful area we were visiting. The treks were fun and challenging, especially when it snowed the last day. And all of the logistics from pick-up at the airport to drop-off at our riad in Marrakech worked perfectly. It was a terrific experience.”

Trekking in Style package DLDM [view package details]

We had a great trip and it was extremely thought provoking for our boys aged 12 and 14.

By Colette, April 2017

  • • Your stay in Marrakech - fabulous! the Riad Siwan was beautiful and the service was impeccable.
  • • Your transfers in and around Marrakech with regard to drivers and porters to and from your Riad - all excellent. The driver on the last day was extra kind as he took a detour en-route back to Marrakech so we could see the Anima Garden. I would recommend this to others.
  • • Your stay at Kasbah du Toubkal in Imlil - fascinating with great views. The books about the vision certainly helped put the whole experience into context. Very friendly people.
  • • Your trekking guide - very lovely. He knew the area inside out.
  • • Any aspect you particularly recommend to other travellers - the mountains are spectacular and a great contrast with Marrakech.
  • • If we could have done something extra or different to have made your holiday better, what would that have been? The arrangements were all excellent,
  • • Any other comments - We are as you understand very satisfied with our trip and we will probably go to Morocco again in the future. I tell everyone around me about our positive experience!

Very nice place with very service-minded staff!

By Robert, March 2017

  • • Kasbah Du Toubkal - Very nice place with very service minded staff! I asked for some assistance to celebrate the birthday of one in our group…and they made a cake with candles and the name written on the cake! Very appreciated!
  • • Trekking guide - Very good! (Abdel). His english was very good and we could ask him just anything and he delivered help and answers to us!
  • • The lunches in the mountains were fantastic!
  • • Remote Trekking Lodge - Also very good! The ‘lodge manager’ Mohamed was very inviting with great hospitality.
  • • Marrakech - Very good Riad, We were upgraded to Riad Siwan which was fantastic! Good service! We got adequate advice about restaurants and shops! Large, nice rooms with cool African design! We had some meals at the riad, of course very tasteful and good. The owner (with wife) of the riad were very present and were taking care of the guests at the riad! Nice!!
  • • Transfers in and around Marrakech with regard to drivers and porters to and from your Riad. Good, always in time.
  • • Any other comments - We are as you understand very satisfied with our trip and we will probably go to Morocco again in the future. I tell everyone around me about our positive experience!

Great holiday in Morocco

By Magga on 5 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

We were six in a group and we stayed for 9 nights in Morocco. We wanted to go hiking in the mountains and to summit Mt. Toubkal. We were picked up at the airport in Marrakech when we arrived and we drove to Kasbah du Toubkal in Imlil, a very nice place to stay in. We stayed there for two nights and had a nice walk in the area. After that we walked to another valley and stayed in the Remote Trekking Lodge for two nights and also had a nice walk there. We went up into the mountains for hiking and slept in huts for two nights. Our last day hiking was when we climbed Mt. Toubkal. Our guide was very good. We ended our holidays in Marrakech and stayed there for two nights in Riad Azzar, a very nice place. After our stay in Marrakech we were picked up at the Riad and driven to the airport. Everything was excellent, the people and the food.”

Great walks in the beautiful mountains around Imlil

By Chris on 2 Oct 2016

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

We stayed two days in a beautiful Riad in Marrakech, then we were transferred to the Kasbah du Toubkal, an extraordinary place to stay. We had a walk in the Imlil valley, then we trekked to the remote Trekking Lodge in the Azzaden Valley, fantastic landscapes, and very poor villages. Every day we had lunch prepared by a cook on the hike, and dinner at the Kasbah or the Lodge, almost too much food for us. All together a great experience!”

The High Atlas Mountains are awesome!

By Ms A G 16 on 5 Apr 2016

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

My daughter and I had a thoroughly marvellous six days planned by Kerrie Wrigley. Our first night was in Marrakech. We then travelled to Imlil and spent two nights at the Kasbah De Toubkal, a most wonderful destination. Our guide, Abdou, was sensational- kind, funny, hard-working. Lahcen, one of the front desk personnel made us feel so welcome and couldn’t have been more accommodating. Mohammed prepared the most memorable picnic lunches for us on three occasions. We then spent two nights at the Lodge and ended with one more night in Marrakech. The hiking was challenging, beautiful, and fun. We had perfect weather. The landscape and architecture were simply spectacular to behold. Our Riad (Azzar) in the medina was so well-situated right in the middle of everything but very quiet. It is a very elegant and lovely small hotel. The owners and management were very helpful. The manager recommended two great restaurants (Pepe Nero and Foundouk) both of which we enjoyed immensely. Maryk, one of the owners gave us a great suggestion to have our laundry done at a laundromat around the corner, much less expensive than a hotel laundry. Everything ran so smoothly. All of our transfers were perfect. There is not a single thing that could have been improved. I rate our experience A+.”

Great, entertaining and educational

By Dee on 31 Oct 2015

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

Enjoyed the contrast between Marrakech and the Atlas Mts. Particularly liked the providers facilities and staff. They were unique and staff were friendly and most helpful. We found the experience in the mountains most interesting as we come from apple country at 780’ elevation and there the apples, walnuts, and cherries are at 5000+ elevation. Even though their methods of harvesting seemed basic and primitive it was effective for their culture. Observing the culture between Marrakech and the Atlas Mt region was educational and interesting.”

Trekking in Style package MEDLD [view package details]

Kasbah du Toubkal…amazing place!

By Linda, Mar 2017

Overall we would like to thank you and all connected with Discover for fantastic service and a wonderful holiday.

Kasbah du Toubkal in Imlil:
Excellent - amazing place, fantastic setting and views - feel privileged to have been there. Room and view from balcony great - appreciated that it was nice and warm (two heaters) given the outside temperature. Food good especially on our first and third evenings. Soups really nice. Guides good and we really enjoyed the walks.

Was glad to see that EFA being supported to help girls get an education. Overall really liked the Reasonable Plans book about the development of the place and all the good it is aiming to do in the Berber community. Was really helpful that you sent a link to the weather forecast website so we could be prepared with the right clothing.

Marrakech:
Another amazing place - beautiful lay out and décor. Staff all extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast - was all fine and all delicious. Nice base to explore Marrakech.

Any aspect you particularly recommend to other travellers:
The views and setting of the Kasbah.

Perfect

By Helen B on 7 Mar 2016

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

I booked a 3 night walking holiday with Discovery Ltd. I was travelling alone with an excellent, professional guide they provided. I walked south along the coast from Essaouria staying in a Riad and a gite. It was just superb. Everything was well organised and of the highest standard. I felt totally safe travelling alone and made to feel very welcome.

Morocco - High Atlas (Kasbah du Toubkal) and Essaouira

By les roses on 5 Oct 2015

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

Trekking in High Atlas from Kasbah du Toubkal with very knowledgeable guide and staying in luxory accommodation. Then staying in medina in Essaouira on the coast - a great location for a combination of beach and ‘culture’ - medina, port, souks etc.”

5-night 2-centre holiday BYOBB package [view package details]

We would like to thank you for the recently organised trip.

By Alan, August 2017

The transport to all the places was superb.

Kasbah du Toubkal was so special.

Everyone was so helpful.

We had a wonderful time.

We loved the Kasbah!

By Marian, Mar 2017

We loved the Kasbah. It has been so beautifully renovated and is a fantastic place to stay. Our room on the 2nd floor of the tower was lovely, with a view of the snow-covered mountain. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful. The nights were still cold and it was a wonderful surprise to find hot water bottles in our bed when we returned from our meal on the first night.

It was nice to have the complimentary walk on the first afternoon. We did a guided walk on 2 of the 3 other days of our stay. Ali was our guide and he judged our abilities very well, was very patient, and we were confident he would keep us safe. The breakfasts were very good, and we enjoyed our evening meals too.

We liked the commitment to the environment, animal welfare and supporting the community. We bought one of your water bottles, which will be well used on UK walks.

Take walking boots, and poles if you usually use them for hill walking. Have a day pack each for carrying water, packed lunches etc. We did a nice walk on our own up the valley from Imlil, visiting some of the villages.

Marrakech - if like us, you’re not confident in bargaining, go to the cooperative shop first because it gives you an idea of what is a fair price in the Medina.

Marrakech

The riad was lovely and in a great location. It was very quiet and the room was very comfortable. We had a very good meal at the riad on both evenings. It was very peaceful and relaxing on the roof terrace.

We would certainly recommend the Riad Les Yeux Bleus.

We were very pleased that some of the money raised for the community was being used to support girls’ education.

We were also pleased with the help we got from Discover Ltd in booking.

1st class nothing was too much trouble to arrange

By Mr James Sarton on 2 Dec 2016

Rating for this holiday: Excellent

We stayed at the Kasbah du Toubkal for 3 days with walking in the mountains and had the most wonderful time. The staff at the Kasbah were excellent and very hospitable which added to the experience. We also stayed at Riad Les Yeux Bleus in Marrakech and again found everything perfect again.
Wouldn’t hesitate to return.

Marrakech Riad and High Atlas Mountains Holiday [View package details]

Thanks for all of your help in creating our Moroccan memories!

By Lisa, May 2017

Our stay at the Kasbah du Toubkal - What an amazing place! It is truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. So comfortable with every detail considered, but not at all pretentious. We found it rather ironic that a place in the middle of the Atlas Mountains would have one of the best hotel hairdryers we've had! The staff was wonderful and the buildings, grounds and views are amazing. The food was delicious - and we enjoyed the pre-meal hand washing tradition with orange blossom water.

  • Our trekking guide, Abdul, (Abdeslam Maachou) was the best!
  • Stay at the Remote Trekking Lodge - this place was also amazing and so comfortable (also great hairdryers!). The location in the middle of such a remote area is such a worthwhile experience. We really enjoyed watching all of the groups of goats coming down from all over the surrounding mountain sides as the sun was going down. Real life so different from our own!
  • Stay in Marrakech - the Riad Siwan was fabulous!!
  • Transfers in and around Marrakech worked like clockwork.
  • Particular recommendations to other travellers - We know a number of people that have travelled to Morocco, but most haven’t gone and spent time in the Atlas Mountains. Staying at both the Kasbah du Toubkal and the remote trekking lodge are really unique experiences that I would recommend to anyone interested in a trip with a bit of adventure. Spending time in the middle of the mountains - where people are living as they have lived for hundreds of years is so different than just going to Marrakech.

    We truly loved every minute of our trip to Morocco.